Research and Policy Projects
"Beyond Transition" Newsletter
Seminars and Conferences
Other conferences and seminars
CEFIR International Conferences / "Russia - 2015"
Annual Russian-China Conferences
NES Research Seminar
Media Contacts


Subscribe to CEFIR Alert

Main page | Seminars and Conferences | Other conferences and seminars
SEB Conference, 2002 | 14-10-2002
Date: October 14-16, 2002 

Venue: Metropol Hotel, Moscow


OCTOBER 14, 2002

19:00  Session A. Introduction of the programme and the delegation

Jacob Wallenberg,
Anders Åslund, Senior Associate, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Washington DC

19:30  Section B. Theme: «Russia and the Nordic countries»
Cocktails and Dinner with the Swedish, Finnish and Norwegian ambassadors.

Host/moderator: Jacob Wallenberg
Sven Hirdman, Ambassador of Sweden,
René Nyberg, Ambassador of Finland
Öivind Nordsletten, Ambassdor of Norway

OCTOBER 15, 2002

8:00-9:00  Session C. Theme: «The domestic political situation "
Breakfast meeting

Moderator: Erik Belfrage,Senior Vice-President, Advisor to the Chairman of SEB
Konstantin Kosachev, Deputy Chairman of the International Affairs Committee of the Duma (Unity Party)
Lilya Shevtsova, Project Associate, Moscow Carnegie Center
Vyacheslav Nikonov, President, «Politika» Foundation

9:30 — 10:30  Session D. Theme: «Russia’s relations to its neighbours — foreign policy and security issues»

Moderator: Aleksey Arbatov, Deputy Chairman, Defense Committee of the State Duma
Sergei Karaganov, Council on Foreign Policy and Defence (thinktank) — (prel. yes)
Sergei Yastrzhembsky, Assistant to the President of the Russian Federation

11:00 — 12:00  Session E. Theme: «Economic trends and developments — Performance and prospects»

Moderator: Klas Eklund, Chief Economist, SEB
Arkady Dvorkovich, Deputy Minister of Economic Development and Trade
Oleg Vyugin,First Dep. Chairman of the Central Bank of Russia (former Dep. Finance Minister)
Ekaterina Zhuravskaya, Dr., Academic Director, Center for Economic and Financial Research (CEFIR)
Boris G Federov, Member of the Board, Gazprom
Evgeny G Yasin, Chairman of the Academic Council, Higher School of Economics, Moscow

12:15 — 13:45  Session F. Theme: «Russia on the world market»

Host/moderator: Jacob Wallenberg
German Gref, Minister of Economic Development and Trade

14:00 — 15:00  Session G. Theme: «The financial market and the banking system»

Moderator: Roger Gifford, Head of Unit, SEB, London
Tatyana V Paramonova, First Deputy Chairman of the Central Bank of the Russian Federation
Vladimir Dmitriev, Pro-Chairman of the Directory Board, Vneshtorgbank
Alan Hirst, President, Citibank Russia

15:00 — 16:00  Session H. Theme: «The Transformation of the Russian Eeconomy»

Moderator: Klas Eklund, Chief Economist, SEB
Julian F Schweitzer, Country Director, The World Bank (to be confirmed)
Poul M Thomsen, The International Monetary Fund, (to be confirmed)
Dragica Pilipovic-Chaffey, Director, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) in Russia (to be confirmed)

16:45 — 18:00  Session I. Theme: «The economic and industrial developments in  the Moscow region»

Meeting with the Mayor of Moscow Yury Luzhkov.

19:30  Session J. Theme: «Where is Russia heading?"

Cocktails and Dinner with leading Russian business executives and leading official representatives
Host: Sven Hirdman, Ambassador of Sweden

Kakha Bendookidze,General Director, Unite Heavy Machinery
Grigory Berezkin, General Director, «ESN-Energo»
Alexandr Braverman, First Deputy Minister on Property
Oleg Deripaska, Director General of Russian Aluminium
Arkady Dvorkovich, Deputy Minister of Economic Development and Trade
Boris Fedorov, Member of the Board of Directors, Gazprom
Andrei Illarionov, Counsellor on economic matters to the President of the Russian Federation
Oleg Kiselyov, General Director, NP «Media-Socium»
Mikhail Kommissar, General Director, Interfax News Agency
(to be confirmed)
Boris Kurakin, Chairman of the Board, Rustel Co.
Alexey A Mordashov, General Director and Chairman of the Executive Board, Joint Stock Company Severstal
Yury Ponomaryov, President-Chairman of the Executive Board, Vneshtorgbank
Oleg Susyev, First Deputy Chairman of the Board, Alfa-Bank
Miron Tatsun, President, Union of Manufacturers and Timber Exports od Russia
Garegin Tosunyan, President, Association of Russian Banks
Arkadi Volsky, President of the RUIE

David Yakobashvili, Chairman of Wimm-Bill-Dann
Yevgeny Yasin, Head of Academic Council, Higher School of Economics
Igor Yurgens, Executive Secretary, Russian Union of Industrialists & Entrepreneurs
Dmitry Zimin, General Director, «Vympelkom»
Aleksandr Zubarov, First Deputy General Director, Aeroflot

OCTOBER 16, 2002

8:00 — 9:00  Session K. Theme: «Investing in Russia»

Breakfast meeting with foreign investors in Russia
Host/Moderator: Jacob Wallenberg

Michel Perhirin, Chair-man, Raiffeisenbank Austria,
Rein Tamboezer, President, Shell Explora-tion & Production Services, (to be confirmed)
Hans Gueldenberg, Managing Director, Nestle
Gerhart Hilgert, President, Daimler Chrysler (to be confirmed)
Hans Jochum Horn, Managing Partner CIS, Ernst & Young
Colin Woodhouse, General Director of Representation office, Pechiney
Ruben Vardanian, President & CEO of Troika-Dialog
William Browder, MD of Hermitage Capital Management

9:30 — 10:30  Session L. Theme: «Energy issues»

Moderator: Bruce Misamore, Chief Financial Officer, Yukos Oil Company
Anatoly Chubais, President & CEO of RAO UES
Anatoly B Yanovsky, State Secretary / Deputy Minister of Energy
(to be confirmed)

11:00 — 12:00  Session M. Theme: «Russia and the European integration»

Moderator: Erik Berglöf, professor, Director, Stockholm Institute of Transition Economies (SITE)
Sergei Guriev, Centre for Economic and Financial Research (CEFIR)
Yevgeny Gusarov, Deputy Foreign Minister, (to be confirmed)
Richard Wright, Ambassador and Head of Delegation of the European Commission in Russia

12:15 — 14:00  Session N. Theme: «Doing business in Russia»

Lunch meeting with business executives from the Nordic countries
Host/Moderator: Jacob Wallenberg

Knut Furuheim, Vice President, Fortum Oil & Gas
Raimo Niukkanen, Nokia, Head of the Representative Office,
(to be confirmed)
Seppo Remes, Vostok Nafta Group, President,
Baptiest Mol, ZAO Stora Enso Packaging, Vice-President
Eddie Åhman, President, Ericsson Russia
Lennart Dahlgren, Managing Director, IKEA Russia (to be confirmed)
Radoslav Vojnovic, Managing Director, ZAO Atlas Copco
Alfred Zopf, Managing Director, Tetra Pak Russia
Lars Corneliusson, General Director, Volvo Truck, Russia
Göran Olson, Regional Director Russia & CIS, Telenor
Tiemen Meester, Managing Director, Maersk Sealand Russia
Mattias Westman, Director, Prosperity Capital Management

14:00  End of Conference
Nakhimovsky prospect 47, office 920 & 720 117418 Moscow Russia
Phone: +7 (495) 925 5002 Fax: +7 (495) 925 5003
E-mail: cefir (at)
Centre for Economic and Financial